Lauener Prize

Launer Prize or an Outstanding Oeuvre in Analytical Philosophy

Prizewinner 2012: Professor Hilary Putnam

Award Ceremony: Thursday 21 June 2012, Bern, Switzerland


The fifth recipient of the Lauener Prize for an Outstanding Oeuvre in Analytical Philosophy is Hilary Putnam, Cogan University Professor Emeritus at Harvard University. The Lauener Prize is given for Putnam’s body of philosophical work.


Posted in news | Leave a comment

Philosophy in an Age of Science

A Conference in Honor of Hilary Putnam’s 85th Birthday

May 31 – June 3, 2011
Harvard University (Emerson Hall) – Brandeis University (Hassenfeld Conference Center)

David Albert, Columbia University
Maria Baghramian, UCD School of Philosophy, Dublin
Paul Benacerraf, Princeton University, Emeritus
Alan Berger, Brandeis University, Visiting Professor at Harvard University
Anat Biletzki, Tel Aviv University, Israel
Ned Block, NYU
Richard Boyd, Cornell University
Mario de Caro, University of Roma Tre, Italy
Stanley Cavell, Harvard University, Emeritus
Gary Ebbs, Indiana University
Jerry Fodor, Rutgers University
Paul Franks, Yale University
Harvey Friedman, Ohio State University
Maximilian de Gaynesford, University of Reading, UK
Warren Goldfarb, Harvard University
Richard Healey, University of Arizona
Geoffrey Hellman, University of Minnesota
Hilla Jacobson, University of Tel Aviv, Israel
David Macarthur, University of Sydney, Australia
Tim Maudlin, NYU
Martha Nussbaum, University of Chicago
Charles Parsons, Harvard University
Carl Posy, Hebrew University
Ruth Anna Putnam, Wellesley College, Emerita
Nathan Salmon, UCSB
Tim Scanlon, Harvard University
Ben-Ami Scharfstein, Tel Aviv University, Israel
Charles Travis, University of London, UK




Posted in conference, news | Leave a comment

Hilary Putnam awarded The Rolf Schock Prize in Logic and Philosophy

The Rolf Schock Prize in Logic and Philosophy 2011 has been awarded by the Swedish Academy to Hilary Putnam “for his contribution to the understanding of semantics for theoretical and ‘natural kind’ terms, and of the
implications of this semantics for philosophy of language, theory of knowledge, philosophy of science and metaphysics”.

The Rolf Schock Prizes are triennial and are awarded in the fields of logic and philosophy, mathematics, the visual arts and musical arts. The prizes are awarded by The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, The Royal Academy of Fine Arts and The Royal Academy of Music. The prize award ceremony took place in Stockholm on 2 October 2011.





Posted in news | Leave a comment